Week 3: Transbranding

Crocs Suitcase 

3.jpg

For the Transbranding week I decided to design a Crocs suitcase, as Croc has a very distinct design style which would be suitable for applying to another object other than the typical form of a shoe.

I created 20 different prototype out of blue foam using hot glue and the hot wire cutter, the purpose of these models were to experiment with the form, shape and dimensions of the product. I borrowed a pair of my brothers Crocs to use as a guideline while making the prototypes, and then afterwards I compared the final prototypes back to the Croc shoes in order to clearly see which shape is the most similar to the style of Croc.

If I were to further this design process I would next wish to complete a scaled down prototypes of this design and experiment with the use of different materials which are suitable for a suitcase to be made out of and also has the same aesthetics as Crocs.

“All Crocs™ shoes are uniquely designed and manufactured using proprietary closed-cell resin, Croslite™, a technology that gives each pair of shoes the soft, comfortable, lightweight, non-marking and odor-resistant qualities that Crocs™ wearers know and love.” In an ideal situation I would try to use the material ‘Croslite’ although Crocs have “exclusive rights to the proprietary foam resin called Croslite”. 

I would also like to produce functioning prototypes so that I can experiment with the movement of the wheels, zips and the handle. I would also like to design the inside of the suitcase as I have done no work into this and it is an essential part of the design of any suitcase.

http://www.crocs.eu/faq/customer-service-faq,en_ES,pg.html

 

Leave a Reply

