Bringing the Outdoors in, Week 1: ‘Designers as Problem Solvers’, ‘The Human Centred Design Process’ and Storey Arms Trip

After the first lecture I could clearly see how I could benefit from the module if taken full advantage of. As a product designer, design development is essential, but in the past I have struggled to chose the efficient way of doing this.

Inspiration > Ideation > Implementation >

This is an effective development process discussed in today’s lecture,  which I am eager to apply in this project. If I tailed this process to the project, I believe it would go like this; 7

Storey Arms > Ideation > Prototyping >

This project is based around Human Centred Design, I had be taught this previously but it was useful to recap. The definition we were give was;

Embracing Human-Centred Design means believing that all problems, even the seemingly intractable ones like poverty, gender equality, and clean water, are solvable. (IDEO, 2015)

In order to carry out HCD effectively we needed to come  up with a persona who we will be designing for, me and my partner Sam decided on a 17 year old male who is still currently in sixth-form.

When we begin the ideation process, we have been told to;

Diverge (Consider alternatives)
Converge (Choose the best)
Analysis (Ideation)
Synthesis

/

Empathise
Define
Ideate
Prototype
Test
(Institute of Design Stafford)

/

Observe
Engage
Immerse

/

Discover
Design
Ideate

After the first lecture we went into the Heart Space and ‘Observed’ the people in there, taking notes of things they were doing. We then decided whether it was the best way for them to doing the things  we were observing, and if not we began to think of solutions. Some observations were;

  • Low tables
  • Unclear Pricing
  • Not much room in ‘Box’
  • Unstable chairs
  • Poor seating arrangement

16780705_10211178138041179_547246221_n

We left for Storey Arms this Thursday, I was unsure what I was letting myself in for but it was definitely a shock how stuck in we were getting. On the first day we went gorge walking, I was expecting to be it to be a simple walk down a river, but the reality was having to crawl through narrow caves, jumping off cliffs into deep water, walking along slim ledges and more. I had never done anything like this, so I would have expected to find it very unnerving, but I really enjoyed myself! The healthy and safety issues and the need to emergency first aid was obvious whilst doing this though.

  • Restricting clothing
  • Strong water current
  • Rising water levels
  • Domino effect when people fall
  • Height issues
  • Unstable walking surfaces
  • Slippery surfaces
  • Uneven surfaces
  • Temperature shock
  • limited visibility
  • Fitness

On the evening we did orienteering, we were put into two groups and the first team to get to their destination most accurately using a compass won. My competitive streak really shone.

It was pitch black outside so visibility was poor, there were many steep hills so we were all struggling with breath and we had just eaten so some team members were complaining about a suffering from a stitch. There were many craters in the ground, and being the navigator I almost fell into them on numerous occasion so my team mates had to stay alert.

We managed to get to the destination more accurately and in a faster time so we were best pleased!

The next morning we went caving, this was my favourite activity, although others suffered from claustrophobia and hated the experience. Other issues included;

  • Restrictive clothing
  • Large heights
  • Visibility issues
  • Low ceilings
  • Rocky surfaces (more of an issue when needed to crawl)
  • Water current
  • Tight gaps
  • Navigation

 

Leave a Reply

